Invention 2

When challenged to think about a social issue that resonates with me, the first thing that comes to mind is the use of the word “retard.” A few years ago it was all the rage. It was huge part of our everyday slang, standing in place for the word stupid. This has always been a word that irritated me, but since it was just a part of everyday slang I never truly showed my anger towards the word. However it was when renowned political commentator and observer, Anne Coulter, used the word in a speech she gave. It was then that I realized just how bad the usage of the “r-word” had gotten. When I was in high school I made a point to sit with kids from the special education program everyday for lunch. Sitting with these kids made me realize that this word was something more than just slang, it was offensive. Today I realized that these words, although not used as much, are still used and still offensive. I want to do a media project on why this should stop, why it is offensive and what can be done about it.

Leave a Reply

